Purge Deleted Objects
This is an administrative tool to permanently erase any unused user and mailslot configuration files and any unused mail stores.
When an account is deleted it is removed from the console but not from the database - so that you can recover from an accidental deletion simply by recreating a User of the same name - even if there is no mail left in the mailslot, it will still exist as a user account.
After you select 'Purge Deleted Objects' Mailtraq will survey your Database and present a list of objects to be permanently removed. This will include all 'deleted' mail stores (AFX files). If you wish to keep long term copies of old mail stores (say, for compliance reasons) these must be removed to safety before proceeding.
The Purge operation takes place only when the OK button is clicked.
Once the 'purge' function has been done you will no longer be able to recover accidentally deleted Users and Mailslots.
Ensure that you do not do not leave primary backups in Mailtraq directories
Backups left within the Mailtraq folders will be removed by the 'purge' action.
- Take a backup of the current Configuration and put it somewhere safe.
See how: Backup Configuration
- Select the 'Purge Deleted Objects' from the Tools-menu.
- Confirm the action when asked.
- Mailtraq will remove the unused user and mailslot configuration files and any unused mail stores.
Introduced in build 22.214.171.1244 Sep 19 2007